Today I just got an email from ebay asking me to confirm with a link, it’s like the common confirmation link you get when you first signup to ebay which is normally done to confirm that you really own the email address you put in the sign up form.

However this time somethings “Phishy”, yes i do have an ebay account but I did not signed up under the email where i got this “ebay confirmation form”.

The email is from “alerts@ebay.com” with subject “eBay customer service team informs you Sun, 19 Jul 2009″ that looks legit isn’t it?, and the content goes like this

Dear eBay user,

We would like to inform you that we have released a new version of eBay Confirmation form. This form is required to be completed by all eBay users.

Please follow these steps:
1.Open the form at http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPIdll?cfom=590645996637469258976263765993.
2.Follow given instructions.

Thank you,
eBay

I did not click the link, though i’m on a Mac and sure i’m protected from malware, It doesn’t sounds just good.

After further investigation i learned that the link

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPIdll?cfom=590645996637469258976263765993.

is an anchor text, the link is actually

http://cgi.ebay.com.jillkow.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?cfom=590645996637469258976263765993258976263765993.

WTF! what you would click is a page from “jillknow.com” egi.ebay.com is it’s subdomain to make it look like it’s an official ebay site so you’ll fill up the ebay login fishing form. Now that’s clear it’s a Phising email just like the ones i though was really from bank of america.
Picture 20
These days Firefox, Google, Safari and most browser have a built-in phishing protection it’s also important to be vigilant, who knows those filter fail, you can’t blame firefox, google, or safari for not helping you avaid this Phising scam, a little common sense could be useful.

Related posts:

Categories: News 0 like

Leave a Reply